Evanescence /ˌɛv.ɪn.ˈɛs.ɛns/ is an American rock band founded in Little Rock, Arkansas, in 1995 by singer/pianist Amy Lee and guitarist Ben Moody.[1][2] After recording independent albums, the band released their first full-length album, Fallen, on Wind-up Records in 2003. Fallen sold more than 17 million copies worldwide and helped the band win two Grammy Awards out of seven nominations, as well as scoring number six in CBS's "Top Bestselling Albums of the Last 10 Years" (2008). A year later, Evanescence released their first live album, Anywhere but Home, which sold more than one million copies worldwide. In 2006, the band released their second studio album, The Open Door, which sold more than five million copies.[3]

The line-up of the group has changed several times: David Hodges left in 2002, co-founder Moody left in 2003 (mid-tour), bassist Will Boyd in 2006, followed by guitarist John LeCompt and drummer Rocky Gray in 2007, and Terry Balsamo in 2015. As a result, none of the band's three studio albums feature the same lineup. The latter two changes led to a hiatus, with temporary band members contributing to tour performances. Billboard ranked Evanescence number 71 on the Best Artists of the Decade chart.[4]

Announced in June 2009, the newest line-up of the band eventually returned with Evanescence, their self-titled third studio album, released on October 11, 2011. It debuted at the top of the Billboard 200 chart with 127,000 copies in sales.[5] The album also debuted at number one on four other different Billboard charts; the Rock Albums, Digital Albums, Alternative Albums, and the Hard Rock Albums charts. The band spent 2012 on tour in promotion of their latest album with other bands including The Pretty Reckless and Fair to Midland. Troy McLawhorn also became a full-time band member during this time. Following the end of the album's tour cycle in 2012, the band entered another hiatus.

In 2015, Evanescence emerged from hiatus and announced they would resume touring; however, they denied that new Evanescence material was being produced, as Lee was focusing on a solo project instead. In addition, Balsamo left the band and was replaced by Jen Majura. Late 2016 saw additional touring from the band and a statement from Lee that Evanescence would continue. In March 2017, Lee stated Evanescence was working on a fourth album for release later in 2017. Synthesis was released worldwide on November 10, 2017, and marked a stylistic change in the band's sound.



Synthesis is the fourth studio album by American rock band Evanescence.
Imperfection is a song by musical group Evanescence, released on September 15, 2017.
Lost Whispers
Lost Whispers is a compilation album by American rock band Evanescence.
The Open Door
The Open Door is the second studio album by American rock band Evanescence.

Photos - Evanescence451

Popular Albums7

Album Appearances & References2

Popular Songs15

Popular Live Albums1

Song Appearances & References6

Minor Film Appearances & References4

Book References & Influences1

Video Game References1

Collaborators & Influencers6

Other Music-Related Relationships24

Awards & Nominations42


Popular Tours1

Band Members11

You May Also Be Interested In37


Spotify - Albums & Singles21


Spotify - Top Tracks10


Upcoming Concerts18

News Articles1


Affiliated Locations3

Upcoming Concerts
New Items