Rush is a Canadian rock band composed of Geddy Lee (bass, lead vocals, keyboards), Alex Lifeson (guitars, backing vocals) and Neil Peart (drums, percussion, lyrics). Forming in 1968, the band went through several configurations until arriving at its current line-up when Peart replaced original drummer John Rutsey in July 1974, two weeks before the group's first United States tour.

Rush is known for its musicianship, complex compositions, and eclectic lyrical motifs drawing heavily on science fiction, fantasy, and philosophy. The band's musical style has changed several times over the years, from a blues-inspired hard rock beginning, later moving into progressive rock, and including a period marked by heavy use of synthesizers. In the early 1990s, Rush returned to a guitar-driven hard rock sound, which has continued to the present.

According to the RIAA, Rush ranks 86th with sales of 25 million units in the U.S.[1] Although total worldwide album sales are not calculated by any single entity, several industry sources estimated Rush's total worldwide album sales at over 65 million units as of 2017. The group has been awarded 24 gold, 14 platinum, and 3 multi-platinum albums.[2]

Rush has received nominations for seven Grammy Awards.[3] The band has won several Juno Awards, won an International Achievement Award at the 2009 SOCAN Awards,[4] was inducted into the Canadian Music Hall of Fame in 1994 and into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2013.[5][6] Over their careers, the members of Rush have been acknowledged as some of the most proficient players on their respective instruments, with each band member winning numerous awards in magazine readers' polls. Rush announced plans to cease large-scale touring at the end of 2015.



"2112" (pronounced twenty-one twelve) is a side-long title track from Canadian rock band Rush's 1976 album of the same name.
A Passage to Bangkok
"A Passage to Bangkok" is the second song on Rush's album, 2112.
The Twilight Zone
"The Twilight Zone" is the third track on Rush's album 2112.
Something For Nothing
Something For Nothing is a song by Rush, released on December 2, 2016.

Photos - Rush1000

Popular Albums48

Album Appearances & References23

Popular Songs59

Popular Live Albums17

Song Appearances & References5


TV Shows1

Book References & Influences1

Collaborators & Influencers8

Other Music-Related Relationships27

Awards & Nominations6


Popular Tours8

Band Members5

You May Also Be Interested In18


Spotify - Albums & Singles98


Spotify - Appears On5


Spotify - Top Tracks10


News Articles3


Affiliated Locations2

New Items