Aesop Rock

Aesop Rock



Ian Matthias Bavitz (born June 5, 1976), better known by his stage name Aesop Rock, is an American hip hop recording artist and producer residing in Portland, Oregon. He was at the forefront of the new wave of underground and alternative hip hop acts that emerged during the late 1990s and early 2000s. He was signed to El-P's Definitive Jux label until it went on hiatus in 2010.[3] betterPropaganda ranked him at number 19 at the Top 100 Artists of the Decade.[4]

He is a member of the groups The Weathermen, Hail Mary Mallon (with Rob Sonic & DJ Big Wiz), The Uncluded (with Kimya Dawson)[5] and Two of Every Animal (with Cage).[6] Regarding his name, he said: "I acquired the name Aesop from a movie I had acted in with some friends. It was my character's name and it sort of stuck. The rock part came later just from throwing it in rhymes."[7]



Hot Dogs
Hot Dogs is a song by musical artist Aesop Rock, released on November 1, 2017.
Bushwick is an album by musical artist Aesop Rock, released on August 11, 2017.
The Impossible Kid
The Impossible Kid is the seventh studio album by American hip hop artist Aesop Rock.
Skelethon is the sixth studio album by American hip hop artist Aesop Rock.

Photos - Aesop Rock16

Popular Albums17

Album Appearances & References58

Popular Songs6

Song Appearances & References2

Musical Groups3

Minor Film Appearances & References2

TV Shows1

Poetry Appearances & References1

Video Game References4

Collaborators & Influencers30

Other Music-Related Relationships8


Spotify - Albums & Singles27


Spotify - Appears On43


Spotify - Top Tracks10



Affiliated Locations2

New Items