David Frost

David Frost



David Frost is a record producer and pianist. He has won 16 Grammy Awards for his work, most recently in January 2018 for Producer of the Year, Classical. In 2014 he won three Grammy's for Producer of the Year, Classical, Best Engineered Album, Classical for Maria Schneider's "Winter Morning Walks" and for Best Classical Vocal Performance for Dawn Upshaw in "Winter Morning Walks". In 2012 his production of Steven Mackey's "Lonely Motel" with eighth blackbird and Rinde Eckert won a Grammy Award for Best Small Ensemble Performance. In 2011 he won four awards including Producer of the Year, Classical. He had won this category in 2005 and 2009 as well. In 2009 he also won a Grammy Award for Best Engineered Album, Classical, for "Traditions and Transformations: Sounds of Silk Road Chicago", with Yo-Yo Ma, the Silk Road Ensemble and the Chicago Symphony. He has worked with numerous labels, including RCA Red Seal, Sony Classical, London/Decca, Deutsche Grammophon and EMI Classics. As a staff producer at BMG Classics (RCA Red Seal) for nearly a decade, he collaborated with many of their most important artists such as André Previn, Sir Colin Davis, Leonard Slatkin, Anne Akiko Meyers, The Tokyo String Quartet, János Starker, Luciano Berio and the pianists Alicia de Larrocha, Evgeny Kissin, Rudolf Firkusny and Van Cliburn. He has also been a guest faculty member of The Banff Centre. He is the son of Thomas Frost, who won the 1986 Grammy for Classical Producer of the Year.

He was producer for the Grammy Award winning "Verismo" and Grammy nominated "Homage" with soprano Renée Fleming, Kathleen Battle's Sony Classical release "Grace", and Decca’s “Star Crossed Lovers” with Renée Fleming, Plácido Domingo and Daniel Barenboim. He has produced operatic tracks for several film soundtracks, including A Midsummer Night’s Dream with soprano Renée Fleming, and The Man Who Cried with tenor Salvatore Licitra. He has collaborated with director, Baz Luhrmann, producing the Broadway Cast Album of Puccini’s La Boheme for Dreamworks Records. He recently has produced recordings with the Chicago Symphony and conductors Riccardo Muti and Pierre Boulez, the Los Angeles Philharmonic and Gustavo Dudamel, pianist Jonathan Biss and the Orpheus Chamber Orchestra, Anne Akiko Meyers, the Eroica Trio, guitarist Sharon Isbin, violinist and composer Mark O'Connor, the Kansas City Symphony, and The Five Browns. Serving as audio producer for PBS Great Performances he has collaborated with Andrea Bocelli, Tony Bennett, Celine Dion, Chris Botti, Audra MacDonald, Yo-Yo Ma, Gil Shaham, Emanuel Ax, and conductor Alan Gilbert leading the New York Philharmonic, as well as Itzhak Perlman and the Lyric Opera of Chicago. He is currently a Music Producer for the Metropolitan Opera and his work includes the Decca DVD release of Der Rosenkavalier with Renée Fleming and the Sony DVD release of Otello with Sonya Yoncheva.



Activationready is an album by musical artist David Frost, released on November 29, 2011.
Too Cool EP
Too Cool EP is an album by musical artist David Frost, released on March 15, 2016.
Beacon is an album by musical artist David Frost, released on September 10, 2016.
Smoke On
Smoke On is a song by musical artist David Frost, released on April 20, 2011.

Photos - David Frost264

Popular Albums3

Popular Songs2

Song Appearances & References1

Minor Film Appearances & References1

Minor Musical Appearances & References1

Minor Play Appearances & References1

Awards & Nominations1

Spotify - Albums & Singles9


Spotify - Top Tracks10


News Articles4