MGMT is an American rock band formed in 2002 in Middletown, Connecticut. It currently consists of Andrew VanWyngarden (lead vocals, guitar, keyboards, bass guitar, drums, percussion) and Ben Goldwasser (vocals, keyboards, guitar, percussion). In the live lineup it consists of VanWyngarden, Goldwasser, Will Berman (drums, percussion, harmonica, backing vocals), Simon O'Connor (bass guitar, backing vocals), and James Richardson (lead guitar, keyboards, backing vocals).

Originally signed to Cantora Records by the nascent label's co-founder, NYU undergrad Will Griggs, MGMT later signed with Columbia and RED Ink in 2006[4][5][6] and released their debut album Oracular Spectacular the next year. After the release of Oracular Spectacular Asti, Richardson and Berman joined the core band in the studio for Congratulations, which was released on April 13, 2010.[7] In January 2011 they began work on their eponymous third studio album.[8] It was released on September 17, 2013, and was released as an early exclusive on Rdio on September 9, 2013.[9] The group's fourth studio album, titled Little Dark Age, was released in February of 2018.

On October 5, 2007, Spin named MGMT "Artist of the Day."[10] In November Rolling Stone pegged MGMT as a top ten "Artist to Watch" in 2008.[11] The band placed ninth in the BBC's Sound of 2008 Top Ten Poll.[12] They were also named as's most played new artist of 2008 in their Best of 2008 list.[13] At the 51st Grammy Awards, the Justice remix of "Electric Feel" won the Grammy Award for Best Remixed Recording, Non-Classical.[14] The group was nominated for the Grammy Award for Best New Artist and "Kids" was nominated for Best Pop Performance by a Duo or Group with Vocals at the 52nd Grammy Awards.[15].



Oracular Spectacular
Oracular Spectacular is the debut album by American band MGMT, released on October 2, 2007 by RED Ink and physically on January 22, 2008 by Columbia.
Congratulations is the second studio album by American rock band MGMT, first self-released through MGMT's website on March 20, 2010 with a general release following on April 13, 2010 by Columbia Records.
Time to Pretend
"Time to Pretend" is a song by the American indie band MGMT, released as the lead single from their debut studio album Oracular Spectacular (2007) on March 3, 2008.
Electric Feel
"Electric Feel" is a song by the American rock band MGMT, released as the second single from their debut studio album Oracular Spectacular (2007) on June 23, 2008.

Photos - MGMT613

People Recently Photographed at MGMT Events3

Popular Albums12

Album Appearances & References9

Popular Songs17

Song Appearances & References2

TV Shows4

Collaborators & Influencers11

Other Music-Related Relationships7

Awards & Nominations19


Popular Tours2

Band Members2

You May Also Be Interested In41


Spotify - Albums & Singles71


Spotify - Appears On7


Spotify - Top Tracks10


News Articles1


Affiliated Locations3

New Items