The Bats

The Bats



The Bats are an influential New Zealand rock band formed in 1982 in Christchurch by Paul Kean (bass), Malcolm Grant (drums), Robert Scott (lead vocals, rhythm guitar, keyboards) and Kaye Woodward (lead guitar, vocals). Though primarily a Christchurch band, The Bats have strong links to Dunedin and are usually grouped in with the Dunedin Sound musicians that emerged in the early 1980s. The band has retained the same four members from 1982 to the present day.[1]


The Guilty Office
The Guilty Office is the seventh studio album by New Zealand indie band, The Bats, released in New Zealand on 1 December 2008, and in the United States on 23 June 2009.
Free All the Monsters
Free All the Monsters is the eighth full-length album by New Zealand band The Bats, released in 2011.
At the National Grid
At the National Grid is an album released in 2005 by New Zealand band The Bats.
Daddy's Highway
Daddy's Highway is the 1987 debut album by New Zealand indie rock group The Bats.

Photos - The Bats1

Popular Albums16

Album Appearances & References2

Popular Songs3

Minor Film Appearances & References1

TV Shows1

Collaborators & Influencers1

Awards & Nominations1

Band Members2


Spotify - Albums & Singles34


Spotify - Appears On1


Spotify - Top Tracks10


News Articles1

Affiliated Locations3